Gordon Seabright Volunteer of the Year Award

The Gordon Seabright Volunteer of the Year Award was established in 2014 by the VOCM Cares Foundation Board of Directors to commemorate the contribution of the late Gordon Seabright to the work of the VOCM Cares Foundation.

The award is intended to recognize a volunteer who has, through an outstanding effort, made an extraordinary contribution to his/her community, and who has demonstrated community leadership through volunteerism.

The award honours an outstanding individual who volunteers in their community and gives of themselves to others with a $1,000 donation from the VOCM Cares Foundation to a charity of the recipient’s choice.

Award Criteria:

He/she has contributed or is contributing to the development of the community by giving their volunteer time to organizations, groups and or discipline while meeting the criteria below.

  1. The volunteer has gone above and beyond the call of duty and has provided exemplary service as a volunteer. The individual must have volunteered for a minimum of five years.
  2. The nominee must volunteer within the province of NL and provide a service to the people of NL.
  3. Absolutely no personal remuneration can be received for a service provided. Explanation? (eg. get paid for their time?)
  4. The nominee must be nominated by a person or a group, and must have at least two letters of support from two different individuals. These letters should represent the outstanding commitment and service the nominee provided.


All nominations must be submitted by Friday, March 23, 2018.

Past Award Recipients

VOCM Cares would like to thank all past award recipients for their outstanding support and dedication to their communities.

Janine Howse
Janine Howse
Denise Hayes
Denise Hayes
Malcom (Mac) Moss
Malcom (Mac) Moss